Writing Contests — Hell or Heaven?

by Fae Rowen

medium_164638369

photo credit: http://dld.bz/drB75

I don’t usually enter contests, but I decided to go all out this year.

During the past two months I’ve redefined my understanding of the experience from both the judging and entrant viewpoints. I hope this post will help you consider whether entering contests is in your best interest at this point in your career. Next month I’ll share perspectives of a judge.

Pop on over to our new site to see more on my “Heaven” and “Hell” contest experiences. Plus, we’re giving away our first prizes today!

Note: The subscriber list will be moving over any day now. If you’ve been meaning to subscribe, now is a good time to hit that button at the top of the right sidebar. You’ll only have to do it once. :-)

See you at the new blog…

~ Fae

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! My passion is finding those qualities that are unique in every person and every piece of fiction. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestorm.wordpress.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in Bumps & Bruises on the Road to Publication, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writing Contests — Hell or Heaven?

  1. Reblogged this on Ella Quinn ~ Author and commented:
    For all of you thinking of entering a writing contest.

  2. Chris Cannon says:

    I had similar experiences when I entered contests. I write YA, and one judge scored me in the 60’s because “characters under eighteen are not allowed to kiss because it is considered pedophelia.” I don’t think she knew what the letters YA stood for.

  3. Ahem. I may have to revise my earlier statement that contests are hell because . . . I just got a phone call that I’m a finalist in the YARWA contest. (Young Adult chapter of RWA). The rewards are high when you do luck out!

  4. Great post! Just found your site – lots of great input! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

